The Garden Party – The Lagers

…continued from The Plan

Lager was the first category tasted. All beers were purchased from the LCBO

Lagers

1. Muskoka Pilsner Light – Bracebridge, ON – 4% abv – can

After trying this beer for the first time a few weeks ago I was curious about it. A few cans have been had since then and my love for the beer has grown. Though a light beer, this pils has the grassy hops, light malts and refreshing crispness to it that is expected of the style.

2. Beau’s Lug-tread Lagered Ale – Vankleek Hill, ON – 5.4% abv – bottle

OK, you caught me. This beer does NOT fit the style category as the word ALE is clearly noted in the name. I thought I would take liberties with this one as it IS a lagered ale. That is to say it is cold conditioned (like a lager), but top fermented (as an ale). This beer served as a point of comparison with the pils. I think my point was made.

3. Creemore Springs Kellerbier – Creemore, ON – 5% abv – bottle

Making its way to beer drinkers for the second year, this malt-accented, pale lager is unfiltered and has that ‘fresh’ taste to it.  It’s not your typical macro (or micro) brewed lager. Notes of aromatic whole leaf hops and ease of drinkability were standouts for this choice.

Food pairing: Sliders
The beers chosen in this category were all crisp and refreshing. Fairly uncomplicated, but with hop bitterness profiles that dominate the flavour. These qualities made sliders (aka mini burgers) a good choice. Topped with fresh tomato slices, truffle mayonnaise and spicy catsup these burgs were broiled due to BBQ complications however were moist and the perfect pairing for the lager category.

My winner: This was perhaps the most difficult category for me to choose a favourite, however all factors considered at the time (food pairing, hot summer day, etc) I have to give my vote to the Muskoka Pilsner Light
Tasters poll winner:
Creemore Kellerbier was the favourite by a fairly large margin!

Next up: Fruit beer

Leave a comment